Rugby Smart 2022

Your guide to improving performance on and off the field. 
Head to the Rugby Smart website for more hints and tips to keep your players safe Click here

Rugby Smart was developed jointly by the New Zealand Rugby Union and ACC. It’s all about lifting team performance by ensuring players are physically and technically at their peak before they put their bodies on the line.

It is a COMPULSORY course and must be attended every year by all coaches, assistant coaches & highly recommended for managers who are involved with teams from U14 level and above. School coaches will be encouraged to attend a course in their region.

All attendees must now complete an ONLINE RUGBY SMART MODULE and must also attend a PRACTICAL RUGBY SMART SESSION.

After you register online, you will be emailed a link to complete the Rugby Smart online module.​​​​​​​ (Managers, please register as a 'Coach' or you won't receive a link)

The online Rugby Smart module will take you less than 20 minutes. This MUST BE COMPLETED prior to turning up to the Practical at least the day before please.

​​​​​​​Unfortunately if you have not completed the online module, you will be unable to attend the practical session.


2022 Rugby Smart Course Dates - For Coaches U14 Up

​​​​​​​All Coaches attending must register and complete the online component before attending

Mangonui Sub Union
Kaitaia Rugby Club
Monday 7th March 2022 @ 6:30pm (6:00pm registration)

Bay Of Islands
Ohaeawai Rugby Club
Monday 28th March 2022 @ 6:30pm  (6:00pm registration)

Whangarei Sub Union
Northland Rugby Union
Monday 14th March 2022 @ 6:30pm  (6:00pm registration)

Northern Wairoa
Pioneer Rugby Park
Wednesday 16th March 2022 @ 6:30pm  (6:00pm registration)

​​​​​​​Rodney Sub Union
Wellsford Rugby Club
Wednesday 16th March 2022 @ 6:30pm​​​​​​​  (6:00pm registration)​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Four Easy Steps

​​​​​​​1. CLICK on your CLUB or SCHOOL REGISTRATION LINK at the bottom of this page. 

2. FILL IN in the coach registration information.  Once completed you will be emailed a link.
(Managers, please register as a 'Coach' or you won't receive a link)

3. CLICK on the LINK that you have received by email and COMPLETE the ONLINE MODULE 
This must be completed before the practical session

4. ATTEND the Practical Rugby Smart Course in an area close to you.  See below for course dates.

For further information please contact:

Josh Hyde 
P: 02102842866

Bay of Islands
Bodean Rogers 
P: 02041124415

Bryce Williams
P: 02102334510

​​​​​​​Northern Wairoa/Rodney

Peter Hugo
P: 02108667743

Rugby Coach Registration Links:

Ahipara School

Aranga School

Arapohue School

Aupouri Rugby Football & Sports Club Inc

Awanui Rugby Football Club Inc

Awanui School

Bay of Islands College

Bream Bay College

Broadwood Area School

Christian Renewal School

City Rugby Union Football Club Whangarei

Dargaville High School

Dargaville Intermediate School

Dargaville Old Boys Rugby Club

Dargaville Primary School

Dargaville Rugby & Sports Club Inc

Eastern Kaiwaka Rugby Club

Eastern Suburbs Junior Rugby Club

Eastern United Rugby Football Club

Excellere College

Glenbervie School

Herekino School

Hikurangi Rugby Union Football Club Inc

Hikurangi School

Hokianga Sub Union

Hora Hora Rugby Union Football Club INC

Hora Hora School

Horeke School

Huanui College

Hukerenui School Years 1-8

Hurupaki School

Kaeo Rugby Sports Club Inc

Kaeo School

Kaihu Valley Rugby Football Club

Kaihu Valley School

Kaikohe Christian School

Kaikohe East School

Kaikohe Intermediate

Kaikohe Rugby Football and Sports Club Inc

Kaikohe West School

Kaingaroa School

Kaingaroa School (Chatham Islands)

Kaitaia Abundant Life School

Kaitaia City Rugby Football Club

Kaitaia College

Kaitaia Intermediate

Kaitaia Pirates Rugby Football Club

Kaitaia School

Kaiwaka School

Kamo High School

Kamo Intermediate

Kamo Rugby & Squash Club Inc

Kamo School

Karetu School

Kaurihohore School

Kawakawa Primary School

Kerikeri High School

Kerikeri Primary School

Kerikeri Rugby Football Club Inc

Kohukohu School

Kokopu School

Manaia Junior Rugby Club

Manaia Rugby Football Club (Northland)

Manaia View School

Mangakahia Area School

Mangakahia Rugby Football Club

Mangamuka School

Mangawhai Beach School

Mangonui School

Mangonui Sub Union Rugby

Marist Sports Club Whangarei - Junior Rugby

Maromaku School

Matakohe School

Matarau School

Matauri Bay School

Matihetihe School

Maungakaramea School

Maungatapere School

Maungaturoto JMB Rugby Club

Maungaturoto School

Maunu School

Mid Northern Rugby Football Club

Mid Western Rugby and Squash Club

Moerewa Rugby Football Sports Club Inc

Moerewa School

Moerewa/United Kawakawa Snr

Morningside School

Motatau School

Motukohu Football Club

Ngataki School

Ngati Kuri Sports Recreation & Sports Club

Ngunguru School

North Hokianga Junior Sports Club

Northern Wairoa Sub Union

Northland College

Northland Rugby Union


NZ Vikings Rugby Football Club (INC)

Ohaeawai School

Okaihau College

Okaihau Rugby Union Football & Sports Club

Old Boys Marist Rugby Football Club (Whg)

Old Boys Rugby & Sports Club - Northland

Omanaia School

One Tree Point School

Onerahi Rugby Football Club Inc

Onerahi School

Opononi Area School

Opononi Rugby Football Club

Opua School

Oromahoe School

Oruaiti School

Otaika Valley School

Otamatea Christian School

Otamatea Hawks Rugby Club

Otamatea High School

Otiria Rugby Union Football & Sports Club

Oturu School

Paihia School

Pakaraka School

Pakotai School

Pamapuria School

Panguru Rugby Football Club

Paparoa Primary School

Paparoa Rugby Football Club

Paparore School

Parua Bay School

Peria School

Pipiwai Rugby  Football Club Inc

Pompallier Catholic College

Pompallier School

Poroti School

Portland School

Pouto School

Pukenui School (Kaitaia)

Pukepoto School

Purua School

Raurimu Avenue School

Rawene Primary School

Riverview School

Rodney College

Rodney Rugby Sub Union

Ruakaka School

Ruawai College

Ruawai Primary School

Ruawai Rugby Football Club

Russell School (Bay Of Islands)

Selwyn Park School

Southern Rugby Football Club - Dargaville

Springbank School

St Francis Xavier School (Whangarei)

St Joseph's Catholic School (Dargaville)

Taheke United Rugby Football Club

Taiamai Ohaeawai Rugby Football & Sports Club Inc

Taipa Area School

Takahue Rugby Football Club

Tangiteroria School

Tangowahine School

Tauraroa Area School

Tautoro School

Te Hapua School

Te Horo School (Whangarei)

Te Kapehu Whetu School

Te Kopuru School

Te Kura O Hata Maria (Pawarenga)

Te Kura O Hato Hohepa Te Kamura

Te Kura O Otangarei

Te Kura o Waikare

Te Kura Taumata O Panguru

Te Rangi Aniwaniwa

Te Rarawa Rugby Football Club

Tikipunga High School

Tikipunga Primary School

Tikipunga Rugby Club

Tinopai School

TKKM o Kaikohe

TKKM o Ngaringaomatariki

TKKM o Pukemiro

TKKM o Rangiawhia

TKKM o Taumarere

TKKM o Te Rawhiti Roa

TKKM o Te Tonga o Hokianga

TKKM o Whangaroa

Tomarata Rugby Football Club Inc

Tomarata School

Totara Grove School

Totara North School

Umawera School

United Kawakawa Rugby Football Club Inc

Waiharara School

Waima School

Waiotira School

Waipapakauri Rugby Football Club

Waipu Rugby Squash Club Est 1876

Waipu School

Waitangi Rugby Football Club

Wellsford Rugby Football Club

Wellsford School

Western Sharks Rugby (DRSC)

Western United Rugby Football Club

Westmount School

Whananaki School

Whangarei & Districts Sub Union

Whangarei Adventist Christian School

Whangarei Boys' High School

Whangarei Girls' High School

Whangarei Heads School

Whangarei Intermediate

Whangarei Primary School

Whangaroa College

Whangaruru Rugby Football Club

Whangaruru School

Whau Valley School

Whirinaki Rugby Football Club